Book Reviews

Click here to Read the May 9, 2014 Press Release

Judge, 22nd Annual Writer’s Digest Self-Published Book Awards, Nov 5, 2014

So many self-help books sport titles that do not indicate precisely what they are about. That thought grew as I read this book’s title and then became immersed in Clark’s message: the title comes straight to the point. The same can be said of the writing within the covers. While it is true that readers most in need of this book might not seek it out due to self-confidence issues, it is a safe bet that Clark’s clear, honest voice and logical layout of ideas will appeal and trigger the healing process once a recipient begins reading. Sections that I particularly admire and appreciate are The difference between confidence and arrogance, Mistakes people make when building confidence, and Change what you can, pray about what you can’t.  All three come close enough to the beginning to make a significant difference in stalling arguments from low-esteem readers with blanket defense mechanisms. Clark’s voice is sensitive and persuasive. She has taken into account the fact that women who need this inspiration are very possibly abuse victims. I like Clark’s honesty in appraising situations and her helpful ideas for not getting into compromising situations (that could lead to more stress and/or abuse). I like her using her own life situations by way of example. I also like her suggestions for building self-esteem and I think a reader who tries even a selection is apt to benefit.  Some of these ideas are very easy and beg to be tried out.  Who, for instance, could not learn one scientific fact in a day? What a great idea!

5 Out of 5 Stars: A very pratical, and helpful approach to anyone dealing with issues of self-worth, June 19, 2014

By Cinthia Hiett: As a relationship expert, psychotherapist and motivational speaker with over 20 years of experience as a Licensed Professional Counselor, I have this book on my shelf in my office – because I like practical things. I encourage everyone to pick up a copy of this book so they can have this information available to them. I love the author’s teaching and energy. This book is very helpful, very timely, with practical ways of putting God’s truth in our head so it can be walked out in our life.

5.0 Out of 5 Stars: In Today’s Culture Women Are Expected to Do More and More, May 23, 2014

By  Gloria Penwell, new-author mentor, writers conference assistant director, and representative of AMG Publishers: In today’s culture women are expected to do more and more. One of the problems with this is they have less and less time to get to know themselves and their worth. Kristen Clark’s book Becoming A Woman of Worth walks us through our analysis of who we are, who we could be, and how to attain this. She shows us how to reflectively consider who we are, gives us practical suggestions on building our confidence in who we are, and then shares with us the spiritual implications of who we are.

I highly recommend Kristen’s book whether you’re just interested in self-reflection or if you have problems with your self-esteem.

This book will give you guidance in your journey.

5.0 Out of 5 Stars: Reviewed by Darin Godby for Readers’ Favorite, Mar 24, 2014

Kristen Clark in her book Becoming a Woman of Worth – Creating a More Confident You enables the reader to look beyond where they presently are to where they can be in Christ Jesus. She discusses how one must seize the opportunities that come their way. We mustn’t let those opportunities pass us by without allowing them to help develop us into the individual that would be pleasing to God. Author Clark talks about the myths of self-esteem and where our value truly comes from. Building oneself up in God is the primary way that we can gain our self-confidence and worth. The world and those outside of God will try to devalue us, but we must allow our own value to shine, as well as help and encourage others so they may desire to show self-worth as well.

Ms. Clark takes the reader along a journey that enables each one to better understand how they can become that person of worth and value. There are detailed bits of information given that will show a person what to do, how to do it, and the results that one should expect by making these life-changing choices. There are many scriptures given that allow the reader to dig deeper into God’s Word and explore a particular area they may have questions about. This is a very encouraging book and one that will help to improve one’s life if read with an open and willing heart.

5.0 Out of 5 Stars: Reviewed by Bil Howard for Readers’ Favorite, Mar 24, 2014

What we become and how we develop is directly related to our self-confidence. In Becoming a Woman of Worth, Kristen Clark not only illustrates this point, but shows women how to get over the numerous hurdles that often stand in the way of being self-confident and self assured. This book is meant to complement an online program called 21 Day Journey, to help change the patterns of how women view themselves by developing a daily habit of finding their worth through the scriptures. She bases her beginning premise on Psalm 139:17-18 from which she poses a question. How precious are your thoughts about yourself? Kristen then begins a definition of self-esteem and responds to some of the myths about it. She then progresses into some practical ways of building self-esteem. The crowning jewel is the section on making confidence into a spiritual mindset. Using God’s Word as the foundation for each part of her work, Kristen allows Christian women to see that it’s okay, even encouraged by the scriptures to be self-confident and that all of us can find our worth in how God views us and build upon that.

Though I am a man, my experience as a residential treatment counselor for adolescent women drew me to this book. Becoming a Woman of Worth was and is exactly what many of the young ladies that I have worked with needed to have in their hands and in their hearts. Kristen Clark gives true, practical suggestions, many of which we used in our program, but she goes a step further and shows how God blesses rather than frowns upon building our self-worth. The truth of what Kristen has written applies not only to women, but to everyone. Much of what was written about placing the needs of others before our own applied directly to me and I gained a great deal personally from many of her practical suggestions. Honest, practical and inspiring, Becoming a Woman of Worth ought to be in the hands of every young lady you know; their future will be completely altered by it.

5.0 Out of 5 Stars: Reviewed by Faridah Nassozi for Readers’ Favorite, Mar 24, 2014

Becoming a Woman of Worth: Creating a More Confident You by Kristen Clark is a nonfiction book that revolves around confidence and spirituality. The book is a guide on how to achieve our life goals through improving our confidence and believing in a higher power. It shows us how God looks at and values us, and encourages us to see ourselves as God sees us so as to know our worth. Kristen Clark takes us through the different things that deter us from achieving our worth and explains how we can overcome those hurdles. The book looks at things like the power of positive thinking and how to achieve it, the importance of setting goals so as to have clear direction, and emphasizes the importance of confidence, how to achieve it and how it helps in achieving a better life and how to connect with God better.

Becoming a Woman of Worth: Creating a More Confident You is a self-help book with a difference. The book looks at success and spirituality as two things that go hand in hand. It details how, by embracing God and involving His teaching in our daily lives, we can achieve confidence and hence achieve our life goals. Becoming a Woman of Worth is a very informative and realistic book. Kristen Clark acknowledges the fact that despite our best efforts, there might be some things and circumstances in our lives that we might fail to change and when this happens, we should turn with our troubles to God. Through turning to God and His teaching, we can achieve confidence and self-esteem and hence reach our bigger goals in life.

4.0 Out of 5 Stars, I Approached this Book with Some Degree of Skepticism, Mar 25, 2014

By Patty K.: It seemed improbable that a woman likely to buy a book on developing worth would have enough confidence to benefit from it.  However, Kristen Clark has written a practical text formatted in concise paragraphs, clearly labeled, with steps to accomplish just that.  Her writing is based on Christian principles and Biblical truths.  It contains lists of scriptural references to attack a full range of issues (loneliness, fear, healing, loss, and the like) that typically erode worth.  There is a section of tips for Bible study to enhance the principles described in the book.  A reader willing to approach these suggestions with an open mind and some consistency can make significant strides toward making the title, Becoming a Woman of Worth, a reality.

5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Mar 10, 2014

By Elizabeth Berrones: With it’s simple cover design and it’s “easy read” size, this book seemed simply like a book to sit and be inspired by on a Saturday afternoon. Instead I was inspired to reflect, respond, and even return to areas that I felt called to share with girlfriends. The author’s words came across as those of one who has personally experienced previous challenges with self esteem, fear of taking chances, and lack of self worth. This made the tips and spiritual guidance the book offers even more authentic advice. This is an excellent read for a woman of any age, from teens to the aged. I’ll definitely read it again.

5.0 out of 5 stars A Super Read!, Mar 3, 2014

By Carol C.: This book was a gift to me, and I just finished reading it. I was amazed at the wealth of information this author has to share. She openly writes about her first-hand experience with low self-esteem and how she overcame it. You will benefit no matter what your confidence level. I will definitely share it with others.

4.0 out of 5 stars Not Just for Women, Feb 21, 2014

By Richard G Schluter: The book is very well written. It is easy to read and understand. It offers useful suggestions for improving your self confidence and obtaining a feeling of well being. Although the title indicates that it is a book for women, men will also find it a useful aid.

5.0 out of 5 stars Learning Confidence, Feb 13, 2014

By Orville G Brown: By the time I got to page 20 of this book, I was making a mental list of all the people I wanted to buy copies for. I didn’t really need it myself, you see, because I was already confident of my position as a daughter of the King. However, as I got further into it, I discovered areas of my life where I do need some work in recognizing my worth and establishing confidence.

This is a practical handbook to teach anyone how to confront any situation, any person, any circumstance in a positive way, with total confidence and poise. It is based on sound Biblical doctrine. We are to be a light set on a hill, and one who follows the practical and lovingly put forth advice in Ms Clark’s book need no longer hide her light.

I wholly recommend this book to anyone who needs a boost in self-esteem.

5.0 out of 5 stars I wish Becoming a Woman of Worth had been available when I was facing divorce after 18 years of marriage., Feb 4, 2014

By Barbara Arent: I wish Becoming a Woman of Worth had been available when I was facing divorce after 18 years of marriage. I have since come to realize I was in textbook depression with a non-existent self-worth. While reading the book, I often nodded my head in agreement with the author.

Ms. Clark uses straight forward, no nonsense descriptions of the signs and side effects of low self-worth. At the end of each chapter are exercises designed to help you pick yourself up and become the person you desire to be. It has the touch of velvet in an iron glove. The chapters are short and well written. There is repetition throughout but this just drives home how low self-worth affects every area of one’s life.

My advice is to read straight through and mark the parts where you exclaim ‘oh my’ or ‘ouch’. Then, review each section slowly looking up scripture references and doing the exercises listed at the chapter’s end.

Well worth reading.

5.0 out of 5 stars Becoming A Woman of Worth, Feb 4, 2014

By Winnie Kaetzel: Kristen Clark has written an excellent handbook for confidence-starved women or men. Though not specifically geared toward both sexes, it is applicable for both. It is not step-by-step, walk through the paces instruction manual, but a general all inclusive resource for knowing a loving God’s design for my view of my own worthiness. I especially appreciated the fact that I knew I could trust the final authority of Scripture that it provides. Well researched, Becoming a Woman of Worth covers all aspects of healing for the confidence challenged person. I recommend it highly.

5.0 out of 5 stars AN INSPIRING STEP BY STEP GUIDE TO FINDING YOUR SELF WORTH, Jan 31, 2014

By Priscilla Wiseman: Author Kristen Clark inspires women who suffer from low self esteem or a lack of self worth in this inspiring step by step guide. She incorporates personal experience, examples from others, and scripture to build a platform to reclaim self worth as a woman. In a world where unrealistic role models try to persuade us to be something impossible to attain, Ms. Clark rights the ship and puts us on a path we can maintain in the real world. I was inspired by this book. More than just encouragement, Ms. Clark actually gives step by step instructions and guide lines to achieve the goals put forth in this book. I highly recommend it for any woman who suffers even one day from self doubt.

Grounded in a deep faith, Ms. Clark exhibits her genuine concern for all women.  Well done!